Annual exhibition 2021 ANALOG

AUSTRIAN AND INTERNATIONAL CERAMICS OF THE 1980s

March 20, 2021 – January 16, 2022

The exhibition offers a diverse selection of works, from the collection of 80 artists, all from the former “Austrian Gallery of Ceramics”, which has been integrated into the collection of the art museum. The exciting spectrum of the show encompasses the broad fields between sculpture, small objects, jewelry and everyday objects. Documenting their infinite variety of shapes and expression, in extraordinary creations. The collection, encompasses a diversity of over 400 works, by important national and international artists, who were active in various ceramic fields in the 1980s.  From pottery to objects, reliefs and wall elements to sculpture, including highlights by Kurt Ohnsorg or Kiki Kogelnik, as well works by well-known ceramists from Germany, Czech Republic, Hungary, Belgium, Holland, Denmark, England, Mexico and the USA, as well as examples of young designers from Austria.  The Waldviertel Art Museum is showing an excerpt from this important collection.

The exhibition exposes a cross-section of the great variety of craft techniques, new forms of expression and trends, that had developed in this decade of the last century. “The guidelines of the achievements of the 80s indicate conceptual dimensions and show a trend away from traditional clichés and towards current art movements, from the environment to plastic objects of daily use …” writes Heide Warlamis in 1984 in the catalog “Contemporary ceramics in Austria.”

The term ‚Analog‘ stands for the juxtaposition to today’s world of the ‚digital‘ and refers to the time when real matter was formed and transformed in a comprehensible work processes.
“Ceramic art in particular speaks a global, deep ecological language that sees the world as an integral whole, into which the connection between people and the earth is burned in,” says curator B. Antoni-Bubestinger.

Prehistory and Collection

In 1981, Heide Warlamis founded the „Austrian Gallery for Ceramics“ (Art Gallery, Ceramics Studio) in Vienna. The aim was to give the emerging contemporary art of ceramics a platform. However, the gallery has always been at the forefront of the comparison within international artistic movements. There were numerous presentations by artists from Germany, the Czech Republic, Hungary, the Netherlands, Denmark, Great Britain, Mexico and the USA. From today’s point of view, this collection is a rare testimony to an impressive artistic period that remains current in its impact.

Ceramic art is a reliable constant through all the different style phases, which not only survives all experiments, but also quite naturally, without pseudo-constructions, fulfills the claim of modernity to allow art and life to merge.

Season 2022

March 26, 2022 – January 15, 2023

Opening Hours

March – June, September

Tue – Sun, and on holidays: 10 am to 5 pm

July and August:

daily: 10 am to 6 pm

October – January:

Wed – Sun, and on holidays: 10 am to 5 pm

Closed on: December 24, 25 and 31 and on January 1.


For groups, kindergardens and school classes seperate hours can be arranged.

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.

Jahresausstellung 2021 - ANALOG
Österreichische und Internationale Keramik der 1980er-Jahre

20. März 2021 – 16. Jänner 2022

Die Ausstellung zeigt eine vielfältige Auswahl aus der 80 Künstler*innen umfassenden Sammlung der früheren „Österreichischen Galerie für Keramik“, die in die Sammlung des Kunstmuseums integriert wurde. Das spannende Spektrum der Schau umfasst das gesamte Feld zwischen Skulptur, Kleinobjekt, Schmuck und Gebrauchsgegenstand und dokumentiert in außergewöhnlichen Inszenierungen deren unendliche Vielfalt an Gestalt und Ausdruck. Die Sammlung umfasst rund 400 Werken bedeutender nationaler und internationaler Künstler, die in den 1980er Jahren in verschiedenen keramischen Bereichen tätig waren, von der Gefäßkeramik über Objekte, Reliefs und Wandelemente bis zur Skulptur, darunter Highlights von Kurt Ohnsorg oder Kiki Kogelnik, sowie Werke namhafter Keramiker aus Deutschland, Tschechien, Ungarn, Belgien, Holland, Dänemark, England, Mexiko und den USA und Beispiele junger Designer aus Österreich. Das Kunstmuseum Waldviertel zeigt einen Ausschnitt dieser bedeutenden Sammlung.

In außergewöhnlichen Inszenierungen zeigt die Schau einen Querschnitt der großen Vielfalt an handwerklichen Techniken, neuen Ausdrucksformen und Strömungen, die sich in dieser Dekade des vorigen Jahrhunderts entwickelt hatten. „Die Leitlinien der Leistungen der 80er Jahre deuten auf konzeptionelle Dimensionen hin und zeigen den Trend von den traditionellen Klischees weg zu aktuellen Kunstrichtungen zu gelangen, vom Environment bis zum plastischen Gebrauchsgegen-stand…“ schreibt Heide Warlamis 1984 im Katalog „Zeitgenössische Keramik in Österreich.“

Der Begriff ‚Analog‘ steht für die Gegenüberstellung zur heutigen Welt des ‚Digitalen‘ und verweist auf jene Zeit, in der in nachvollziehbaren Arbeitsprozessen reale Materie geformt und verwandelt wurde. „Gerade die keramische Kunst spricht im Besonderen eine globale tiefenökologische Sprache, die die Welt als integrales Ganzes sieht, der die Verbundenheit des Menschen mit der Erde regelrecht eingebrannt ist“, so Kurator B. Antoni-Bubestinger.

Vorgeschichte und Sammlung
1981 gründete Heide Warlamis die „Österreichische Galerie für Keramik“ (Art-Gallery, Keramik-Studio) in der Wiener Innenstadt. Ziel und Anspruch war, der aufstrebenden zeitgenössischen Kunst der Keramik eine Plattform zu geben. Der Galerie war aber auch stets der Vergleich mit dem internationalen Geschehen ein Anliegen. So fanden zahlreiche Präsentationen von Künstlern, etwa aus Deutschland, Tschechien, Ungarn, den Niederlanden, Dänemark, Großbritannien, Mexiko und den USA statt. Aus heutiger Sicht ist diese Sammlung ein seltenes Zeugnis eines eindrucksvollen künstlerischen Zeitabschnitts, der bis heute nachwirkt.

Keramische Kunst ist durch alle unterschiedlichen Stilphasen eine verlässliche Konstante, die nicht nur alle Experimente überlebt, sondern auch ganz selbstverständlich, ohne Scheinkonstruktionen, den Anspruch der Moderne einlöst, Kunst und Leben ineinander aufgehen zu lassen.

Saison 2022

Wir freuen uns Sie im Kunstmuseuem Waldviertel

begrüßen zu dürfen!

 

Öffnungszeiten 2022

26. März 2022 – 15. Jänner 2023

März bis Juni, September

Di – So (Mo an Feiertagen) 10 – 17 Uhr

Juli und August:

Täglich 10 – 18 Uhr

Oktober bis Jänner:

Mi – So (und an Feiertagen) 10 – 17 Uhr

Geschlossen am 24.12., 25.12., 31.12. und 1.01.


Für Gruppen, Kindergärten und Schulklassen nach Anmeldung geöffnet!

This site is registered on wpml.org as a development site.